James C. Oates, MD
Charleston, SC

Dr. Jim Oates is an Associate Professor in the Division of Rheumatology and Immunology at the Medical University of South Carolina and Chief of the Rheumatology Section at the Charleston VA Medical Center. Dr. Oates' clinical and research interests are focused on systemic lupus erythematosus and lupus nephritis. His studies center on the role of endothelial dysfunction in lupus cardiovascular and renal disease, biomarkers of lupus nephritis, and use of machine learning modeling to predict outcomes of lupus nephritis. He is involved in clinical trials of therapies for systemic lupus erythematosus and lupus nephritis and is the principal investigator on several studies at MUSC. Dr. Oates is an active member of the M.U.S.C.L.E. Research Group. He has supported clinical research at a regional and national level by serving as the President American Federation for Medical Research where he serves on the Editorial Board of its journal (Journal of Investigative Medicine).

He received a BS in chemistry at Bates College and a medical degree from Johns Hopkins School of Medicine in 1991. He completed his internship and residency in internal medicine and fellowship in rheumatology at Duke University Medical Center in 1996. He came to the Medical University of South Carolina in 1996 to complete a research fellowship and joined the faculty of the Division of Rheumatology in 1997. He has received numerous awards, including Phi Beta Kappa from Bates College, the Four Schools Physician Scientist Training Program Scholarship from the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, the Senior Rheumatology Scholar Award from the American College of Rheumatology (ACR), the Arthritis Investigator Award from the ACR and its foundation, the Research Education Foundation (REF), the Merck Young Investigator Award, the REF/European League Against Rheumatism International Exchange Award, and the Developing Scholar Award from the Medical University of South Carolina Health Sciences Foundation.

Dr. Oates has been a member of SSCI since 2005 and served as Councilor from 2005-2006, Secretary-Treasurer from 2007-2011, and President from 2013-2014. He is now on the Executive Council and serves as an Section Editor of its journal, The American Journal of Medical Sciences.